How important is high fat?

Options
I am relatively new to keto (2 weeks in) and I'm doing okay keeping my daily carb intake below 40gm (most days its below 20), but my fat intake is not reaching the recommended level (currently at 93 grams), also, my protein is higher than it should be. In order to reach ketosis, is it most important to keep the carbs low or is it equally important to keep fats high? Also, any recommendations for adding a lot of fat without adding carbs? Thanks in advance!

Replies

• nicsflyingcircus
    nicsflyingcircus Posts: 2,466 Member
    Options
    edurham79 wrote: »
    I am relatively new to keto (2 weeks in) and I'm doing okay keeping my daily carb intake below 40gm (most days its below 20), but my fat intake is not reaching the recommended level (currently at 93 grams), also, my protein is higher than it should be. In order to reach ketosis, is it most important to keep the carbs low or is it equally important to keep fats high? Also, any recommendations for adding a lot of fat without adding carbs? Thanks in advance!

Fat should be at least 60% of your intake, carbs no more than 10%, though in reality you are better off treating carbs as a fixed number (ie 20-25g) regardless of your fiber, to ensure ketosis.

As for adding fats, it's easy. Cheap, fatty cuts of meat, full-fat cheeses, heavy whipping cream, coconut oil, olive oil, butter.

• radiii
    radiii Posts: 422 Member
    Options
    edurham79 wrote: »
    In order to reach ketosis, is it most important to keep the carbs low or is it equally important to keep fats high? Also, any recommendations for adding a lot of fat without adding carbs? Thanks in advance!

Keeping the carbs low is absolutely the most important thing. You don't want your protein to be drastically high.

http://keto-calculator.ankerl.com/