Fitbit to MyfitnessPal

Options
Hi guys,

Hey does anyone know why the instructions say I need to log excercise data in MyfitnessPal when Fitbit is monitoring that data automatically all day long?

Thanks,

Timothy

Replies

• walruslike
    walruslike Posts: 11 Member
    Options
    I don't know... but I have noticed that if you want 'exercise cred' in your feed so you friends see it mentioned, then it needs to be entered here.

I'm not bothering because the burnt calories come over from Fitbit so that's good enough for my needs. I could be wrong about this because I'm only new to Fitbit.
  • heybales
    heybales Posts: 18,842 Member
    Options
    Just make a wall posting about your exercise with more details.

Very true you don't need to do that.

Where are those instructions BTW that say to log all exercise in MFP?
  • slapshotgolf
    slapshotgolf Posts: 163 Member
    Options
    Hi guys,

Hey does anyone know why the instructions say I need to log excercise data in MyfitnessPal when Fitbit is monitoring that data automatically all day long?

Thanks,

Timothy

Depends on which Fitbit you are using - I have the Force which does not track Heart Rate (I believe some of the newer Fitbits may have that option). Fitbit generally is used for tracking steps - your heart rate is a better determinant of your calorie burn. (2000 steps running will burn more calories than 2000 steps walking given the higher heart rate required to run vs. walk).

If your FB does not monitor HR, then you may need to add extra calories burnt above and beyond what your FB gave you credit for in steps.
  • heybales
    Options
    Well, Fitbit can tell those 2000 steps is running and will actually assign a higher calorie burn, than 2000 steps walking.

And if the distance is correct in both cases, meaning the stride length was correct, the formula used is more accurate than a HRM too, that Fitbit uses.