Fins and snorkels??? Seeking opinions

Options
turtle0022
turtle0022 Posts: 68 Member
Looking for opinions. I've shared I'm a swimming newbie, fresh off after a month of lessons to teach me breathing and proper technique, which I continue to practice.

I've seen so many swimmers use fins and/or snorkels at the pool, able to swim multiple laps continuously - something I have not been able to achieve, although I am improving and getting, what I believe are good workouts. My goal from the start has been able to swim laps continuously for exercise. I realize practice makes perfect and, with patience and perseverence it will all come together.

In speaking with some of my fellow swimmers (some of whom are older than me), they swear by using snorkels to not worry about breathing and the fins to be able to do the distance,

Speaking with the pool lifeguards and my instructor, it's almost frowned upon to use these tools in the swimming workout, although they are a good 20+ years younger than me - having been swimmers since a very young age and in competition, etc., so I believe their perspective may be skewed. One lifeguard referred to it as cheating.

Opinions? While I intend to persevere and continue to practice my breathing, rhythm and technique - especially with the freestyle where I seem to struggle most, is it cheating? Or, would/could I get a better or more efficient workout - using snorkels and/or fins?

Replies

• gentlygently
    gentlygently Posts: 752 Member
    Options
    You know what - I would not worry about any of it so much...

It seems like you are swimming for fitness - well you can be sprinter fit (do fast fast lengths and have breathers in between) or you can be jogger/runner fit (keep on trudging along). Both are valid. I try and do a bit of both.