Looking for advice

Options
I'm really interested in EM2WL and have been reading about it for a while. I am really wanting to give it a go, but not really sure about how. I work out at a gym three times a week - a mix of weights and cardio but I am just starting out really and fairly clueless - and walk 10000 steps a day as well as going to tae kwon do twice a week (but I'm a white belt and a lot of the time in training am not really doing much). Also, I'm 34 (35 at the end of the week!), 160cms and 85kgs. If I choose the moderate activity level on Scooby's, I get a recommended calorie intake of 1983 (20% reduction) and if I choose light I get 1759 (also 20% reduction). I've currently been eating around 1600cals and my weight has been mostly steady. I would really appreciate any help or advice you can give me.

Replies

• heybales
    heybales Posts: 18,842 Member
    Options
    If the cardio/weights is about 20 min each, and the TKD is only 10 min of moving time, sure, you might be Lightly Active.
    Otherwise - not. You move around enough Lightly Active is your day without exercise probably.
    - Now add exercise, probably top of Moderately Active.

Suggest you be honest with activity level, take the reasonable 15% deficit without much to lose, and get the most from your strength training by making it full body compound lifts if it's not already. Don't waste time doing curls and tricep kickbacks with light weights if that's it.

Do you weigh all the foods you eat, even packaged, to get serving sizes?

And you need to slowly increase calories if eating level is indeed accurate.
    100 extra daily for a week at a time. Then another.

If you are truly eating 1600 - guess what your current TDEE for maintenance is?

I'd suggest suppressed TDEE, not what it could be, what it's been crashed down to.

So get it flying high again by increasing slowly all the way up to potential TDEE/maintenance, and stay there.
  • emmajeanious
    emmajeanious Posts: 31 Member