Marathon Race Pace

Options
Colorado_Joni
Colorado_Joni Posts: 25 Member
Hi all,

For those who don't know me, I have been running for about 3 years. I have run about 20 races in this time. In the last year, I have completed several road races including three marathons, two half marathons, and about five 10Ks. Likewise, in the last year, I have done a lot of trail running and have completed a few trail races including a 50K, one half marathon, and one 10K.

Recently, it's become apparent to me, that my road marathon race paces are pretty inconsistent with my other race paces. I feel that my marathon pace is quite a bit slower than I can reasonably handle.

For example (these are within the same 3 months):
10K PR - 1:01:16 (9:52/min)
Half PR - 2:17:32 (10:32/min)
Marathon PR (this was even about 5000ft less in elevation) - 5:20:13 (12:13/min)

Admittedly, I find myself walking out of boredom a little bit during road marathons and long training runs on roads.

So what can I do to improve this? Longer speedwork intervals and tempo runs? More race pace practice? Working on my mental fortitude? Stick to trail running if road running feels boring at times?

Thanks in advance for your tips.

Replies

• scottb81
    scottb81 Posts: 2,538 Member
    Options
    More miles at easy pace will get you what you want which is a solid aerobic foundation.

Given your 10K time, your HM pace with a solid aerobic foundation should be 10:07-10:12 and your marathon pace should be 10:25 to 10:30.

Of course, fixing your aerobic foundation will speed up your 10K so the other ones will get faster too.

Get your weekly easy and long run mileage above 50 miles per week consistently for about 6 months and you will be on the way towards the improvement you are seeking.
  • Colorado_Joni
    Options