Time in the day

Options
nilklynn
nilklynn Posts: 61 Member
ok friends, my schedule is changing next week and I'm terrified of failing on this journey. I'm a teacher and go back to work next week (wah, wah, wah <cue the sad trombone>). This summer I've done so well getting up before the kids and exercising 6:30-7:30ish. But I just don't know where I'm going to fit it in!! How do you working parents fit it in!?!?

I get up at 4 to get everyone up and out of the house by 5:30-5:45. Hour drive to work. Teach til 4. Hour drive home. Make dinner. Get kids fed, bathed and in bed by 8. Pick up, make lunches, etc. in bed by 9, exhausted. Oh and keep my marriage afloat in there too!

Anyone know of a good car workout while driving?

Replies

• aylajane
    aylajane Posts: 979 Member
    edited August 2015
    Options
    You can burn just as many extra calories throughout the day in shorter bursts if you try. Park farther away, spend recess/lunch break walking. Do squats every time you go to the bathroom. Do bicep curls while driving - and butt clenches and some stretches. Every stoplight do something like a floor bridge etc Play outside with the kids in the evening. Prep meals on weekends to make dinner faster - or get hubby and kids to help more. You can even spread your weekend cleaning a bit - spend 15 minutes each evening doing one cleaning chore - i.e. clean the bathroom, vaccuum the living room, sweep the kitchen, etc. Put on some music and dance a bit while at it :)

Workout Sat/Sun mornings, then only worry about one real workout during the week (wed?). Find a friend with kids and take turns each night watching the kids for 30 minutes while the other does a DVD, or have them come over and do it together while the kids play.

Be creative. Doesnt have to be a "real" hour long workout. Just start working on upping your resting BMR by being more active all day long.
  • BringingSherriBack
    BringingSherriBack Posts: 607 Member
    Options