Question about fat quality: hormones vs grass fed/organic

Options
Newbie here (I'm starting keto on Monday) and I'm wondering how important it is to factor in the quality of the fats I'm eating. I remember reading something about how the hormones/antibiotics given to beef/chicken/etc. tend to manifest more in the animal's fat. Should I buy grass-fed/organic meats and pastured eggs to get the best quality fats? Does anyone worry about this or am I overthinking things?

Replies

• Kitnthecat
    Kitnthecat Posts: 2,059 Member
    Options
    There will be many opinions about this one. I am one who believes that the quality of the meat and fat I eat is of utmost importance. I buy only grass fed, pastured, organic meat and eggs. I have been taught that toxins are stored in fat. So if using conventionally raised meat, it would be best not to consume the fat. I will eat the fat from my grassfed meat. It's not a matter of worrying about it. I will eat out on occasion and consume conventional meat and fat when out. But I highly doubt I would ever buy conventional meat for home consumption.

As for fats in general, it is best to choose the most natural fats possible, unaltered by processing. There is no margarine in my house, only butter....no vegetable shortening, only lard that I have rendered myself from organic pastured pork fat. I threw out my canola oil and other vegetable oils, in favour of extra virgin olive oil, and coconut oil. And I save my bacon fat for cooking. We also eat fat from our meat.

An important factor that prompted me to buy my protein from my organic farmers, was that the composition of their meat and fat is healthier for me due to the fact that my animals are higher in good Omega 3, and lower in the bad Omega 6 fatty acids. Our conventional diet is already too high in omega 6 if one is consuming grain fed meat, especially along with processed grains and carbs.