I am a newbie!

Options
SaaxySam09
SaaxySam09 Posts: 10 Member
Hello to whomever is reading!

My name is Sam and I am 24 years old. I started my life-long journey in May (2015) by choosing to make the most important decision I have ever made: preparing for RNY bypass! I have already had some ups and downs, and I have finally made it to the final stages of surgery!

I had my pre-op class on the 3rd of December (today is the 5th?) and my surgery date is scheduled for December 28th - 23 days away! I am very eager and anxious, but am looking forward to being healthy for the very first time in my life.

I have been struggling with PCOS, hypothyroidism, high cholesterol levels, chronic migraines (1-6 per day since '00), chronic body pain, Bipolar Type I disorder, and other various ailments.

If anyone has any advice for pre/post surgery and during recovery (in hospital/at home) I welcome any thoughts! Thanks so much for reading.

Sam O

Replies

• SaaxySam09
    Options
    Oh- and I just got a Garmin Vivifit on Thursday, advice for those too?? ;)
  • AngieViolet
    AngieViolet Posts: 232 Member
    Options
    Congrats on making the decision and getting a surgery date! Best advice I can give is to take some serious time and read the posts on this board. I've learned soooo much from members on here sharing their progress, thoughts, and learnings. Ohh and get an awesome warm robe for the hospital and one of those sit up bedrest pillows for home! You can friend me if you'd like.
  • Tawnykakers1
    Tawnykakers1 Posts: 207 Member
    Options
    Its exciting to get your surgery date! Angie is right with the above information. I would add chapstick. My lips were so dry and I was so greatful for it. I was just fine with stacking two pillows but some people need to have more support. A pillow to hold on your belly for the ride home may also help with bumbs and turns. Remember it gets better every day.
    You may also feel free to add me.

• anbrdr