Keto Newbie - confused, concerned, unsure how to proceed

Options
Hello everyone!

I am very new to the ketogenic diet - started about 3 days ago. I've been reading TONS on the diet, both from the MPF forum and just googling in general. In the past 2 days I seemed to have developed a slight yeast infection, along with cracking/dryness in the corners of my mouth, and a swollen eyelid (just the eylid and only on the right side). Aside from these things I feel like my normal self. I'm just not sure how to proceed. Should I see my doctor for medication, or are these things just caused by my body adjusting to the diet and will eventually disappear?

I'm also a little confused with my macros. I've put my info into a few different online keto calculators and they all seem to give completely different results. I used http://keto-calculator.ankerl.com/ and it gave me the following:

1237 kcal Daily Calorie Intake
20 g Carbs
85 g Protein
91 g Fat

But then I used a keto calculator found on a site called "Keto Adapted" - Maria Mind Body Health - http://mariamindbodyhealth.com/keto-calculator/ - and it gave me the following:

1237 kcal Daily Calorie Intake
6.2 g Carbs
46.4 g Protein
114 g Fat

So as you can see, quite a bit of differences between the two. How do I know which to follow? I really want to make this work as my little sister is getting married on July 9th and I'm going to be one of her bridesmaids. I have about 30-35 pounds to lose. Not sure if giving my stats will help, but I'm 28/female/5'8"/188lbs.

Thank you everyone :)

Replies

• JodehFoster
    JodehFoster Posts: 419 Member
    Options
    I can't really advise you on your macros, but as far as your symptoms go...