Did you keep this process, and surgery a secret?

Options
nakeddog
nakeddog Posts: 79 Member
I'm new to this whole thing, and I don't have anyone to talk to that has gone thru it. I know 2 people, but they are not what I consider to be friends.

I've told a couple very close people to me, that I made the decision, was on the waiting list (Jan 2015), taking classes and now I got the call, and the process is beginning, in May. But as for the rest of my friends, family, I am keeping it to myself. I don't have a surgery date yet.

I know people will notice, and I hope like that I will look better, but I think it's something they don't need to know about me. No doubt they will ask, and word will get out...and I will have to face the judgeyness (if that can be a word), lol., will I be judged? Anyone else have issues telling/not telling? I'm just not ready to be open about it...I guess cause I don't know what to expect.

Replies

• garber6th
    garber6th Posts: 1,894 Member
    Options
    I was open about it. I told my family, friends, and coworkers. I only had one person respond with judgment, but he wasn't someone I was close to and his opinion had no influence on me. I am glad I told people because everyone was so supportive and excited for me, and that meant so much to me. People might surprise you and not be judgmental at all. I also feel that the more open we are about surgery, the more informed people will be and maybe that will help do away with the stigma that's attached to surgery. All that said, you should do whatever makes you comfortable. This process brings on a whirlwind of changes and emotions, and maybe for you, telling people about your surgery will add additional stress, which you don't need. There is no right or wrong here, go with what you feel :-)
  • amyk0202
    amyk0202 Posts: 667 Member
    Options