Easy v marathon race pace

Options
gorple76
gorple76 Posts: 162 Member
As a novice I'm struggling to get my head around pacing myself for training. On the one hand I read that for a first marathon you should just aim to finish but on the novice 2 Hal higdon plan it calls for some pace runs. I'm not sure this would be any faster than my easy run pace?! Any advice would be really welcome.

Replies

• MNLittleFinn
    MNLittleFinn Posts: 4,271 Member
    edited April 2016
    Options
    From what I can tell, "in general" pace runs are at the pace you expect to run the race. Easy runs should be 2-3 minutes/mile slower than that.
  • 5512bf
    5512bf Posts: 389 Member
    edited April 2016
    Options
    2-3 minutes slower than marathon pace is way to slow for training. For 5k training maybe but that is way to slow for the vast majority of marathon runners. My easy pace is 9:30-9:45ish, and my goal marathon pace is 9.09. The majority of your marathon needs to be run in your aerobic zone and 2-3 minutes slower than that might not even get the heartrate to recovery paces.

I'd say 30-90 seconds would be the range you want to keep.
  • rightoncommander
    rightoncommander Posts: 114 Member
    Options
    If you really just want to finish, don't worry about pace, just get the miles in. I mean it. For most beginners (including myself if only I had realised at the time) miles are the only thing that will make a difference. However, if you decide you do want to push it a little in your first marathon, it's a very good idea to get in some marathon-paced runs, or it can all go to pieces on race day. Again, I speak from painful experience.

I agree with the above post that 30-90 seconds faster than your plodding pace is the marathon pace to go for. I don't think it's worth doing unless you do at least an hour at that pace, to get a good sense for how it feels. That's also long enough to decide whether that really is your marathon pace or whether you should aim faster/slower.