Professional help?

Options
LaurenMAP
LaurenMAP Posts: 9 Member
Hi all! I'm new to MFP, and this is my first post on this group. I joined MFP at the suggestion of my physician to start gaining some awareness of my nutrition. I have cycled between binging and restricting for the majority of my life. I used to have big weight swings of 30lbs or more over the course of months when I regulated my weight by purging. I never sought treatment even though I would purge multiple times a day for weeks until I dropped enough weight, and then I'd swear I was done and the cycle would start over. I suffered some abuse in an unhealthy relationship as a young adult and at one point finally, truly resolved to stop purging (as a protection against men, I'm guessing). After that, I rapidly gained 120+lbs over the course of about 4 years and then the gain began to slow. I very slowly lost about 20lbs and then more quickly lost 30lbs last year doing weight watchers. But admittedly, I would fast through much of the day and then binge within my points (intermittent fasting is probably not a healthy thing for me). Since stopping WW, I have gained about 20-25 lbs back in the past 5 months or so.

ALL that to say, clearly I am in need of some therapy. Thankfully, the purging is a thing of the past (although I still crave that feeling of erasing my binges). My doctor has encouraged me the past several visits to see a mental health provider to discuss all this and also rule out mood disorder etc since there's an ongoing issue with depression too. I'm having some difficulty finding a counselor or psychologist who specializes in eating disorders that takes insurance in my area, so I may end up with a provider in another specialization. :neutral: