New in here

Options
Hi all im Mandy, 44 in the Uk,im a newbie in this group and new to lc... im still trying to get my head round it all after years of various other diets... think i have pretty much tried them all... cico was the main winner for me I think but I need to change it up... I got back to eating rubbish..I havent weighed for about 2 months .. I have been like a mad eating machine... I have been trying lc for the past week and have to say I am feeling better already.. If any one has any pointers to help it would be great and im not really sure on the macro side of thing what I should be doing ? I was kinda following atkins last week but not strict. Hopefully I can help support you all ... looking forward to getting to know you all and the lc way of life xx

Replies

• KarlaYP
    KarlaYP Posts: 4,439 Member
    Options
    Hi Mandy! Welcome to the group, and to lc!

The Launch Pad, located at the top of the group forum page, is a wonderful resource for learning this way of eating! There are a couple of macro calculators linked there too to assist in figuring your macros based on the goals you have for yourself. Here is one of them : http://keto-calculator.ankerl.com

You will find that there is a varied range to low carb eating. Ultimately carbs at 150 gm per day, or less, is considered low carb. Finding the range that works best for you, and makes you want to repeat each day, is key! Another thing you want to read is the sticky on electrolytes when eating this way! The "feel good" part can go away, leaving some awful symptoms that can make someone believe they need carbs to feel better, when that isn't true. Keeping them in check will continue those good feelings!

I have found this woe to be the easiest I've ever attempted (after getting past the learning curve!), and is the way I choose to eat for life! I look forward to watching your success! :smiley:
  • ProCoffeenator
    ProCoffeenator Posts: 523 Member
    Options
    Hi Mandy!