OT: winter survival tips?

Options
Winter temps have never bothered me before, but this year? Holy cow! After losing all my insulation my hands are like ice cubes all the freaking time. And I work in a hospital, so of course my patients get tortured too.

It's only December! How am I gonna survive until April?

Replies

• kpk54
    kpk54 Posts: 4,474 Member
    Options
    Google HotHands or HotSnapz. You can find them at a golf shop or sporting goods store. Your patients will thank you.
  • idocdlw
    idocdlw Posts: 208 Member
    Options
    If you work with patients, that gives you a reason/opportunity for extra hand washing with WARM water.
  • annalisbeth74
    annalisbeth74 Posts: 328 Member
    Options
    kpk54 wrote: »
    Google HotHands or HotSnapz. You can find them at a golf shop or sporting goods store. Your patients will thank you.

Don't know how practical that would be, but it did give me an idea. Perhaps keeping a mug of hot tea with me as a hand warmer might work!
    idocdlw wrote: »
    If you work with patients, that gives you a reason/opportunity for extra hand washing with WARM water.

Unfortunately, we only have cold water in my room. :(
  • carlsoda
    carlsoda Posts: 3,412 Member
    Options
    I have the same problem but luckily I don't work with patients. I know nurses have always apologized first while rubbing their hands together to warm them up :) I work in an office sitting but I have totally converted to wool socks and I wear a smart wool jacket every day just to say warm. I have fingerless gloves in my desk drawer too :) The problems we endure after losing our insulation :)
  • Lone_wolf46
    Lone_wolf46 Posts: 2,711 Member
    Options
    Are you a nurse? Get one of those traveling nurse jobs and work down south in the winter months. Problem solved.
  • T1DCarnivoreRunner
    T1DCarnivoreRunner Posts: 11,502 Member
    Options