Post workout recovery

Options
eabernst
eabernst Posts: 29 Member
After how long/ intense of a workout do you introduce a recovery snack/ drink into your routine? What do you recommend? Usually I lift after work but before dinner but can't usually shower, get home, and make dinner within an hour or so.

I'm pretty new to serious strength training and but in my distance running/ cycling practice I wouldn't even think of a conscious recovery snack/ drink until at least an intense hour run and longer for a ride.

Replies

• katnoir1
    katnoir1 Posts: 128 Member
    Options
    I try and get at least a snack in within 1/2 an hour or an hour, but if I don't then I don't worry. I will say though that when I don't, I usually end up so starving that by the time I do eat, I eat twice as much as I would have otherwise.
    If you really want a recovery snack, either take a shake or something with you to have straight after or find a way to cut down on that time. Could you maybe prep dinner the night before so you only have to heat it up? Or do you really need a shower if you're on your way home anyway?
  • TaraTall
    TaraTall Posts: 339 Member
    Options
    ^^
    I love having a protein shake ready to go. It tides me over till dinner usually.
  • eabernst
    Options
    Unfortunately getting home more quickly isn't an option for me due to a lot of things. Do you guys have a shake you recommend? About how many calories should I aim for? Or is it workout time dependent assuming they're all intense ;) ?
  • katnoir1
    katnoir1 Posts: 128 Member
    Options
    I'm lactose intolerant, so I go for a pea protein powder with almond milk. Currently loving Venom Chocolate Pea Protein Isolate. To get max protein absorption, you'll want to pair the shake with some sort of carb - some protein powders are high carb already, but mine is very low carb so I sometimes have a piece of fruit as well. If it's just a snack, aim to clock in around 200 calories.
  • tarabole