Too weak to start?

Options
jen_092
jen_092 Posts: 254 Member
edited January 2017 in Social Groups
Hi everyone!

I want to start SL 5x5 and I've been really excited about it. I've read through all of Mehdi's website and watched his videos over the last week. I always notice he gives the advice to start from the beginning even if you think you're stronger. Well I might have the opposite problem! Can I even start this program?

At my strongest, as a 3 sport athlete in high school, I couldn't bench the bar. When I graduated high school I dropped about 10 pounds of muscle. Now I'm 24 years old and a bit overweight at 5'7 165lb. I have only done light exercise at most over the years. Today I put some books in a backpack and squatted 5x5 with the 12 pounds it weighed, focusing hard on my form. It wasn't too hard but my legs felt a little shaky after! Then I did a set of deadlifts and found it difficult with my tired legs. Next I tried to do push-ups and I could only do 3 with proper form! I can only get good depth if I do them modified (on my knees).

Is it possible to try the program with dumbells for a few weeks before I start with the 45lb bar? Thanks for reading.

Replies

• amyinthetardis1231
    amyinthetardis1231 Posts: 571 Member
    Options
    I started with dumbbell squats and worked at home until they were too light for me, then started SL at the gym after that. I bet your strength comes back quickly if you had decent muscle in the past. You can also start with lighter fixed weight bars if the jump from dumbbell to Olympic bar is too much. FWIW, you would normally separate squats and deadlines with a less leg-intensive movement (OHP) to give your lower body a little break.
  • Kirstie155
    Kirstie155 Posts: 1,001 Member
    Options
    #1 focus on form. Most important thing you can do. If it hurts, you're doing it wrong, stop. Your muscles will be sore at first, that's normal. Pain is different.