Calorie counting

Options
I started keto at 300 and am now at 278. I did this without counting calories. I started counting calories 2 days ago. Should I be? I'm not sure if keto and calorie counting goes hand in hand or if I'm over doing it... ?

Replies

• kpk54
    kpk54 Posts: 4,474 Member
    Options
    It's up to you. If you are losing weight at a satisfactory rate without counting, go for it. At the point you stop losing (for a month or so) track your calories to determine how many you are eating and reduce it. Hopefully you are eating enough to nourish your body for the long term. I've seen some crazy low calorie amounts over the years and it usually comes back to haunt people. Not always, but often.

I've been tracking calories for 4 years for loss and maintenance. It is just what I do and it is effective for me. I take breaks occasionally and am not super detailed at this time. Still maintaining at goal.

Years ago there was no such thing as tracking calories. Most people just knew that eating too much is how they became overweight so they decided to eat less...and it worked. My Dad was a paraplegic his last 20 years of life and was rarely (if ever) weighed but could see and tell he had gained so he'd just cut back on what he ate and he'd lose his excess. Every time.
  • mmultanen
    mmultanen Posts: 1,029 Member
    Options
    I'm aware of how many calories I consume but my focus is more on the grams of carbs consumed. If MFP shows I'm "over" calories for the day but I'm still hungry I'll eat. But what I eat is low carb high protein. Counting is a part of my way of eating but it doesn't strictly define.
  • medic2038
    medic2038 Posts: 434 Member
    Options
    I started keto at 300 and am now at 278. I did this without counting calories. I started counting calories 2 days ago. Should I be? I'm not sure if keto and calorie counting goes hand in hand or if I'm over doing it... ?