New to keto and need snack options

Options
verybusybee
verybusybee Posts: 131 Member
I have been doing really well but I was very hungry yesterday and felt stuck. I am a probation officer so I am often in my car or in court. I usually do cheese or broccoli bit I don't always have the option of keeping stuff cool. What snacks on the go would be good that do t have the stay cool.

Replies

• Violet_Flux
    Violet_Flux Posts: 481 Member
    Options
    I usually keep a package of sausage sticks in my car, just in case. Check the nutritional info, some do have carbs or sugar, but there are plenty that don't.

Nuts could be another good choice; almonds, pistachios, macadamia nuts, that sort of thing.
  • rmhartley7172
    rmhartley7172 Posts: 7 Member
    Options
    Nuts are a life saver! No need for refrigeration so keeping them in your car would work!
  • Cheesy567
    Cheesy567 Posts: 1,186 Member
    Options
    Pick up an insulated lunch bag, it will help keep things cool enough. Hard cheeses won't go bad in a day (or a week), and string cheese in separate wrappers will stay good for a day.

Hard boiled eggs, Duke's shorty sausages, a thermos of soup or dinner, cut up chicken, olives, pickles, etc are all easy snack options to keep around.

If you're traveling a lot, take the time to come up with a list of "green-light" restaurants and meals-away-from-home. Walk through a good gas station (Kwik trip, Walla, etc) and take note of all the options they have that fit your meal/ snack plan. Get used to ordering foods not on the menu at restaurants (almost any restaurant can make you some baked or grilled chicken without spice or breading, or some eggs, or a plain steak, etc). Know what you're going to eat before you walk in the door, and don't look at the menu, order right away.
  • verybusybee
    Options