MFP recipe creator sucks

Options
Enzedandy
Enzedandy Posts: 13 Member
Hi,

I'm a newbie to MFP and this group, and have not yet had a chance to peruse all the discussions, so was just wondering if there were any recommendations for a android/ desktop recipe app that ties in with MFP's option to create a recipe. Only being able to add ingredients to create a recipe on MFP really sucks, and doesn't really count as a recipe in my humble opinion.

What do you do to overcome this hurdle?

Replies

• kpk54
    kpk54 Posts: 4,474 Member
    edited February 2018
    Options
    I'm not sure I understand the question?

I have used the recipe builder often. I use the one that is "Old Recipe Calculator" and only on the desk top (I think). I've read often and in the main forum that it is the preferred calculator. I've tried building recipes on my phone but it is a PITA that I've never adapted to. Thy the Old Recipe Calculator.

I have also used the MFP Recipe Importer found on the page where you build a recipe (desktop). It works ok BUT it is necessary to carefully look at each ingredient it adds/imports because some of them come across as just.plain.wrong. Then I've had to start editing.
  • baconslave
    baconslave Posts: 6,954 Member
    Options
    If you are having trouble with recipe stuff in the app, and who doesn't amirite? :smirk: , try using MFP in your phone browser instead and see if you can access. In my app I can sometimes not c&p things so I can't post links. Which you need to c&p a link to get the importer to read a recipe.

But yes the whole thing is a PITA. And if I haven't entered the recipe via the app, it doesn't exist on the app. It won't pull up recipes I have entered on the site even though I've used it a billion times. So yep, it stinks.

I ran across that last night, except I had entered it in the app, but then had to uninstall/reinstall and it forgot all my recipes and won't search the ones on the site. :rage:
  • Enzedandy
    Options