Am somewhat lost

Options
stevephi01
stevephi01 Posts: 240 Member
edited April 2018 in Social Groups
Hello, I was told a couple of decades ago I had an under active thyroid and needed to take Eltroxin (levothyroxine) for the rest of my life. For all the time since I've never really questioned the diagnosis, took it as told.

No surprise I'm battling with weight loss, succeeded in getting it down but hit a plateau and some awful side effects. I have never experienced hypothyroidism to the extent I have in the past few months - so have taken a far greater interest in what it is all about.
In spite of being on the tablet for so long, I am an absolute novice in understanding the effects.

As with many, I only have the TSH reading to go on. I know there is something no longer in balance, feeling I can no longer rely on what I'm told, "that it's OK".

Hence being somewhat lost, have read so much and quite frankly have an info overload.

Am I on the right path to get back to 'basics' and have a private blood test and try and establish the values of T3 T4 and reverse T3, vitamins etc? It does seem the right place to start, but as I cannot confront any form of resistance I'd rather not know the outcome. Well, seem to be stuck in a roundabout.

I'd appreciate to hear from others who have been in this place and possibly can nudge me in the right direction, I could be totally on the wrong track and need to explore other avenues.

Thank you, either way.

Replies

• staceytschilar
    staceytschilar Posts: 1 Member
    Options