Help for a beginner!

Options
miriaml5
miriaml5 Posts: 11 Member
I’m a super newbie, have no base, etc. Today I swam about 30-40 mim at a very slow pace. I feel my form is suffering; my mother told me my legs were kicking very choppily. Does anyone have any tips?

Also if anyone could point me to something that explains the notation of swimming workouts, I’d appreciate it !

Replies

• girlwithcurls2
    girlwithcurls2 Posts: 2,275 Member
    Options
    Oh boy. I'm not sure I'm the one to go to for tips. "Super newbie" and you lasted 30-40 minutes? My first day was swimming the length and then wondering how I was going to return without alerting the lifeguards to my horrible swimming technique + total breathlessness. I do kick sets with a board and short fins to work on straight legs and high hips. It's helped over time, but again, I'm a late learner and still consider myself a rather new swimmer. Stick around though. There's loads of experience and support here!
    And welcome!! :wink:
  • miriaml5
    miriaml5 Posts: 11 Member
    Options
    Thanks! Well, I can’t do flip turns so I rested a bit at the ends but I tried to limit resting to switching to breaststroke or going slow. Maybe I will do sets with a board; that’s a good idea. How did you build your endurance/speed/form?

Also how do you read workouts? Also what if you are slower than the workout seems to assume?
  • gentlygently
    gentlygently Posts: 752 Member
    Options
    Mmm hopefully you will get some answers on swim workout notation over the weekend - it passes me all by!

Sounds like you are already doing the right stuff for endurance - gradually build up length of swims / reduce the rests, and drop the speed or go for a less intensive stroke. But it is a good idea tp add sprinting to the mix - to get your heart pumping, rather than all 'plodding up and down'.

Welcome!
  • fishgutzy
    fishgutzy Posts: 2,807 Member
    Options