Why is my Dr. satisfied with an A1C reading in the 6's?

Sandytoes71
Sandytoes71 Posts: 463 Member
Hi, im new to diabetes T2. Im 47 yrs old and was diagnosed with this officially about 5 weeks ago. My Dr.(whom I'm not sure I am going to stick with yet, something rubs me the wrong way about him) has me puzzled. He seems to have set an A1C goal for me of anything below a 7.0. I am currently at 8.0. I didnt think that would be a low enough number (in the 6.0 to 6.9 range)?? He put me on a weekly injection called Trulicity as Metformin just killed my tummy. He said glucose readings under 150 were good. Isnt that too high tho? Im just confused.

On another note, I would love to have more friends who are in this same diabetes boat. Thanks for reading ♡

Ginger 😊

Replies

• Sandytoes71
    Wow, thank u sooo much for explaining all of that. Makes great sense! I did not realize that about the exercise either. Thank u thank u!!
  • 2t9nty
    2t9nty Posts: 1,572 Member
    I was diagnosed in 2016. My doctor wanted under 7. The Diabetes Association and metformin was not even getting me BG readings under 200 and I had this vision of adding meds and things not being well controlled. I got a Walmart meter and strips because the OneTouch even with insurance was more expensive. I started paying attention to how I was responding to things I was eating. I discovered that glucose levels for me were mostly a function of carbs consumed. Lower carbs -> lower glucose readings...

I decided that 50 carbs a day was a reasonable limit, and glucose readings were going down. I started looking into this correlation online and found keto and groups like this one. I dropped my carbs per day to 20. I reduced calories and started tracking them to lose some weight