Depression has anyone used keto to cure

Options
I’m sorry slight duplicate post as I had asked about moods.

I thought my depression was completely hormone related as happened two weeks of the month. I am not enjoying my job too and family member is poorly so likely not helping but had put carbs back in the diet in case low carb was aggravating ( when I sat out carbs back this has led to bread binges!).

Probably the time of year I’m really suffering and keen to hear if anyone has alleviated theirs.

Replies

• THachAb
    THachAb Posts: 63 Member
    Options
    I’m really new to this so am not a great one to comment, but I do feel generally more happy overall and got through my normal “witching period” much easier this month! Part of it I think is the feeling that I am making some positive changes for myself and also that my normal migraines have diminished so significantly.
  • ellybee__
    ellybee__ Posts: 8 Member
    Options
    I also am new to keto but I am on week 2 and I feel like my mind is a but clearer and the depression has slightly subsided, I blame the winter as well, but I feel like most of my depression comes also because of my weight and being unhappy with myself. But I do feel very nice energy on keto
  • gimmekimchee_x
    gimmekimchee_x Posts: 24 Member
    Options
    If im being honest I don't feel that keto helped with my depression but once I got back to exercising, that helped more than anything. It was hard to go back to it and im nowhere close to where I used to be, but I gotta start somewhere and running or even just walking on the treadmill altered my mood tremendously. And I think that staying on keto (or low carb) will help in the long run. Hope you find what works for you 😊
  • juststartedrunningagain
    juststartedrunningagain Posts: 168 Member
    edited January 2019
    Options