One month in - who wants to be accountability buddies? Introduce yourself

Julieboolieaz
Julieboolieaz Posts: 656 Member
Hi!
I am still kind of new to this. I am taking compounded semaglutide and just finished my 4th dose. I am down 13 lbs so far (probably mostly water) from 220 to 207. While I'm at the low "introductory" dose, I have already had greatly reduced appetite and much lower food noise. It's been amazing!!

A bit about me. I'm 55, through menopause, mom to 4 kids (2 littles still at home). My goal is to lose 60lbs by next June (Maui trip just booked). I want to get back to the gym but recently got a concussion so I'm taking it easy. When the kids go back to school in 2 weeks I plan to get back at it - hopefully my head will be better by then. If not I'll at least walk on the treadmill, but I want to take some pump classes and lift again.

I lost 120 lbs (Atkins) 20 years ago and kept it off for 15 years. then Hashimoto's thyroiditis, menopause and Covid (shut the gym for 2 years) put on 50-60 lbs. It's been so hard - I have tried and tried to lose again, I know how to do it, but my body will not cooperate. My Dr (endocrinologist) suggested Semaglutide and said it's very helpful for hormonally reisistant types.

I'm very encouraged by the disinterest in food so far. I just got home from 2 weeks of vacation and did really well. I am not tempted and have been focusing on protein (shakes, yogurt, chicken) - I'm trying to eat at least 1000 calories a day. I was forcing myself for the first 2 weeks. I feel better now - eating 1000-1200 a day, but could easily do 500 if I wanted to, not sure which would be more effective?

Ok- So that's me. I'd really like a few friends who are in similar situations and want to check in, share suggestions and encourage one another!!

Replies

• BCLadybug888
    BCLadybug888 Posts: 1,626 Member
    edited July 31
    My goodness, sounds like you are off to a great start!👍🏻