Struggling with the long runs

Options
kennethmgreen
kennethmgreen Posts: 1,759 Member
I don't know if I'm mentally blocked or just not physically ready, but I have yet to complete a long run. I've been doing C25K for a couple months now, and have repeated some weeks (either because I didn't comfortably finish, or I went on vacation and want to redo a week). Since week 5's 20 minute run on day 3, I have stopped during each attempt at the long run. I did week 6 fine until the long run, and wasn't able to finish without stopping. I'm still doing the time for the run, or close to it, but breaking up the long run with walking.

Anyone else experiencing this? Struggling with the long runs? It's frustrating because I felt pretty good doing the intervals for weeks 5 and 6.

I should be on week 7 this week, but have opted instead to do a hybrid week 6 approach. I plan to run at least 10 minutes (try to do more), then walk, then run some more to achieve 25 minutes of running. Last night, I ran 11 minutes, walked 3:30, then ran 8:30.

This *seems* like a good approach for me, working up to a long run over the next few weeks. I wanted to hear from others.

Replies

• jskaggs1971
    jskaggs1971 Posts: 371 Member
    Options
    How's your pace? The first time I did C25K, I found that the long runs went better if I consciously slowed myself down during the first 5-7 minutes. Maybe you're starting at too fast a pace and burning out early. Just a thought.
  • tameko2
    tameko2 Posts: 31,634 Member
    Options
    Slow down. MORE. Embarrasingly slow. On sunday I ran my last long run at 4.4 mph. My boyfriend thinks that's hilarious because that's a walk for him (its a very BRISK walk for me - painfully brisk - but he's 6'2" so). But I did the whole half mile - took me like 8 minutes and normally I couldn't make it that long but I mean, i was going SLOW.

(I want you to dps very very slow and when I say slow I mean *%*^&$#% slow).
  • Cait_Sidhe
    Cait_Sidhe Posts: 3,150 Member