Training program help!

Options
vespaberrie
vespaberrie Posts: 86 Member
I'm a total novice runner/ jogger.. I'd like to work up to running my first HM in October of 2012. It seems that most of the training progams are for those with at least a little running experience. I have NONE. Any suggestions on programs, where to start? A program easily adaptable for treadmill use would be great.

Thanks in advance!

Replies

• girllimberlost
    Options
    I use Hal Higdon's programs. He has ones for just starting out and then mid and high level, so you can adjust them to what you need. Couch-to-5K is a good program to get into running period. http://www.coolrunning.com/engine/2/2_3/181.shtml It is 9 weeks and that is how I started running. Lots of good information on there as well.
  • linnea213
    linnea213 Posts: 178 Member
    Options
    I would start with a training program for a 5k or 10k and work your way up. I'm using the Hal Higdon training program and he has one for 5k,10k and up. They are free to print. I run on a treadmill in the winter. Since October is a ways away you have time to get a few smallr races under your belt.
  • olivedrab
    olivedrab Posts: 85 Member
    Options
    Here's another vote for training for smaller distances first. It's so much fun to hit your goal and run a race earlier on that I'd keep the half as your eventual (October) goal but focus more primarily on some 5k races and then 10 races in the meantime. That way you have those intermediate goals to keep you motivated while building up your running base a bit more.

I used to run distance, but just got back into running a couple years ago and have been taking my time (probably more than I needed to) getting back up into higher mileage. But that approach has also kept me sane and enjoying each distance that I focus on along the way, rather than feeling exhausted...
  • l3ugjuice
    l3ugjuice Posts: 233
    Options