Fruit? Smoothies? Hashimoto's?

Options
I will preface this question with a little history about my journey. I have Hashimoto's thyroiditis (It's an auto-immune disease) and for me, I have had little to no success with weight loss for the past three years. I have gained nearly 70 pounds since my diagnoses and it seems that my body weight is not necessarily related to my diet and exercise. Hard to believe, I know, but its' true.

I've read about the Paleo lifestyle and how incredible it is for people with auto-immune diseases. I have been eating Paleo for 17 days and am never looking back. I am not weighing myself until I've completed 6 weeks of eating this way (I hate the word DIET) so I can't really speak about weight loss, but losing weight is my ultimate goal. I am still new to this and have found quite a few different opinions about these questions because it seems that all the authors of the different books have slightly different opinions/recommendations so I'm looking for some "real people" opinions.

I have a few questions for y'all!

1. Is there anyone else out there with Hashimoto's who has been able to lose weight through the paleo lifestyle?

2. I eat fruit a lot but have no idea what the recommendations are for someone trying to lose weight, any suggestions for servings of fruit each day for weight loss?

3. I have to eat about 75% of my meals in the car because of my job so I make green smoothies with frozen berries, spinach, and almond or coconut milk. Are smoothies like this considered Paleo? Thoughts on a fruit smoothie beverage like Odwalla, Bolthouse Farms, Naked, Etc.? I have to do the best I can with my lifestyle but want to lose weight to get my health back.

4. Anyone else out there who eats dried figs and dates? I've read conflicting opinions about these types of foods.

Thanks for any input!!

Replies

• monkeydharma
    monkeydharma Posts: 599 Member
    Options