Yoga calories

Options
CJT40
CJT40 Posts: 6 Member
Hello! I was wondering if anyone might have an idea regarding the calories burned for 1 hour of yoga? I am an instructor so I do at least an hour a day or more, but the calories that MFP comes up with has got to be wrong....I know I burn more than 130 calories! Any thoughts? :smile:

Replies

• CJT40
    CJT40 Posts: 6 Member
    Options
    Excuse me.....it says 145 calories burned.....I know its more than that!
  • yogibella
    yogibella Posts: 321 Member
    Options
    I know what you mean! I definitely work out harder in my power class than in 1 hour of walking but MFP says I burn more walking!

I guess the problem is that there are SO many types of yoga and it differs from class to class. A gentle hatha class is not comparable to a power core class. I've looked up a few calculators online but they differ so greatly, it's hard to make a proper estimate.

here's a few:
    http://www.sparkpeople.com/resource/calories_burned.asp?exercise=71
    http://www.glamour.com/health-fitness/activity/calculators/power_yoga/result?calculators=/health-fitness/activity/calculators/power_yoga&met=6.7&weightPounds=163&duration=60&activity=&submit.x=57&submit.y=16

Of course nothing is accurate unless we measure with a HRM.....

How are everyone calculating their burns?
  • nikirtehsuxlol
    nikirtehsuxlol Posts: 41 Member
    Options
    I'm going to say that you don't burn that many calories during (hatha) yoga. I certainly wouldnt say you burn like 300 calories or anything.

I personally don't trust most of those calorie counters anyways. My friend had a Body Bug. And she MIGHT have burned 357 calories during a spin class. Depending on which calorie counter you look up online, they're going to claim you'll burn 5-600 calories during a spin class. And when she was on the treadmill, she would burn about 100 calories less than what the treadmills claimed.