Swap Running Shoes

Options
Hello! I am training for my 1st marathon and heard that it's important to wear different running shoes throughout the week. I currently wear minimalist shoes (Nike Frees) for cross training/weights 2-3x week and a more structured shoe (Nike Lunarglide) for my LSD and Interval training. No injuries thus far, though my heels tend to be sore after my long runs. Any thoughts about this philosophy or additional suggestions?

Replies

• arc918
    arc918 Posts: 2,037 Member
    Options
    I do all my runs in the same model of shoes. I rotate two pairs (every other run more or less). I've been running in the same shoes (Brooks Adrenaline) for 9+ years now.

Every now couple years I go shopping for a different model, but I always decide I like my beloved Brooks the best.

I wear them for everything from 5Ks to marathons. I wore them in my one 50K as well.

So that is my long winded way of saying, no you don't need to run in different models of shoes. My physical therapist got me started on running out of two pairs at once.
  • bjbixler
    bjbixler Posts: 258 Member
    Options
    I pretty much do the exact thing Arc does, in the same shoes! (Brooks Adrenalines ftw!)

But since I'm a girl I...

1)Buy different colors to tell them apart and match outfits

2) Because different colors are FUNNER!

My favorite rendition was a purple and turquoise pair I found online last year. They aren't available anymore *tear.
  • bert16
    bert16 Posts: 726 Member
    Options
    I run in Nike Free 5.0's - intervals, tempo runs, long runs, recovery runs... all in the 5.0's (and, obviously, they're what I race in, also). I don't actually alternate them, either; I just run in the same pair and keep track of the mileage on 'em; just want to be sure I don't have to switch to a new pair right before a marathon. Works for me so far...
  • scottb81
    scottb81 Posts: 2,538 Member
    Options