Protein macro as a vegetarian

Options
hheater
hheater Posts: 52 Member
Hey everyone!

I'm a vegetarian...but it seems that everyday on my food diary, I'm WAY over on carbs, and nowhere near protein. Even when I don't even eat bread or any other "carby" things that day. I'm eating all the things that vegetarians should eat for protein...nuts, legumes, food combining, etc...I know how to be one in a healthy way. But with the whole 40/30/30 thing...I have a hard time. Any suggestions? Thank you!

Replies

• MoreBean13
    MoreBean13 Posts: 8,701 Member
    Options
    I'm interested to hear the response to this too. I have the same problem.
  • ANewLucia
    ANewLucia Posts: 2,081 Member
    Options
    Well, I have done lots of research on lots of things, but haven't hit this one yet....I am studying for my Sports nutrition certification to go along with my PT and I know I will get to this topic sooner or later. I know someone will jump in on this thread...jump bump it until they do:-)

Lucia
  • 31prvrbs
    31prvrbs Posts: 687 Member
    Options
    I'm so sad, because I've answered this in detail before on here, but I can't find it to save my life, lol. I can't remember what the topic was called, and I can only see maybe 20-30 of the most recent posts I wrote in (which I surpass in a day :tongue: )

I'm trying my best to find it for you but I think I mentioned things like the meatless sausage patties from Morningstar, which are 10g each (and yummy!), greek yogurt 22g/cup, and things of that nature (are you vegan or just vegetarian?)

Kiki
  • MoreBean13
    Options
    Here's a good article on the subject- It suggests that strength athletes need 1.41g/kg to 2g/kg per day of protein.

http://www.drfuhrman.com/library/vegan_athlete.pdf