New To Running!

Options
Hey! I am new to running. I got some good running shoes and I want to eventually be able to run a 5K. How do I get started? Any tips? I need all the advice I can get so comment away!

Replies

• jlbay
    jlbay Posts: 473 Member
    Options
    People in this thread are using the program found here: http://www.c25k.com/

It slowly builds you up to running over a 9 week period. You can find some excellent podcasts that will time the running/walking intervals for you - that's what I used in the past with this program so I didn't have to stare at my watch.

I'm waiting for clearance from my physio to start the C25k program for the second time (recovering from a non-running related injury). What I did last time: I was walking and doing circuit training for about 2 months before I started the program (although many people just jump right in from the couch). I would walk briskly for 2 songs on my ipod (my warmup), then I would start my podcast with the appropriate day's walk/run intervals from the C25k program. After I finished the C25k intervals, I usually walked for another 2-3 songs as an extended cool down. The C25k podcast I used had a warm up and cool down included, but I just extended it. Then I would get home and stretch my calves, quads, hamstrings, & glutes.

I would do my runs in the morning before breakfast, or I might have a glass of water and small piece of fruit an hour before I ran. If you have good running shoes - you really don't NEED any other equipment/clothing. Also, I was really struggling with the program, so I repeated each of the first 3 weeks of the program a second time (for a total 12 weeks to 5k). Lots of people do that. Also, start by running slow. You should be able to talk during the running intervals. Don't worry about speed. Speed comes later. I felt like I was running in slowmo, but I got through the program and beyond.

Good luck!
  • paulwgun
    paulwgun Posts: 439 Member
    Options