Novice on TDEE/BMR

Options
Littlesmile
Littlesmile Posts: 99 Member
Hi...

I am a novice on this forum.
so far i have been busy in checking my calories , what i am eating and what i am burning.

but now i want to make a better understanding of this whole calculations.

so far what i have checked my BMR /TDEE on scooby's workshop and below are the things i found out

Basal Metabolic Rate (BMR) 1615
Daily calories to maintain weight (TDEE) 2786
Daily calories based on goal in step 6 2229

i have a full time office job and does a run / workout on daily basis.

now if you can help me in understanding the TDEE .. is this the amount i need to eat DAILY ... this seems to be way too much..
pl help ...

Replies

• Symonep
    Symonep Posts: 181 Member
    Options
    You need to eat 2229 every day.

TDEE = total daily energy expenditure, this is your maintenance calorie amount. So then you take off 15 - 20% to create your deficit which is the 2229 :)

ETA - you don't need to eat back calories etc as this is worked out with the activity level you have chosen. The only time you need to eat back any exercise calories is if your exercise calories make your total go under your BMR. Then you just eat back up to your BMR (I think) please feel free to correct me if I am wrong.

Feel free to add me if you want a EMTWL buddy as I am just starting out on this too. I am finding it hard to get up to my total required, off to buy some protein powder tomorrow
  • Littlesmile
    Options
    Thanks for the reply...
    but i m feeling overwhelmed at the thought of eating 2200 calories...

how will i be able to loose weight in that scenario.

and of course i have already sent u the friend request...
  • Addibellex
    Addibellex Posts: 6
    Options
    Take comfort in the fact that you are not alone.
    I feel the same fear of eating so much but the more I research and talk to others the more logic I see in the system.