A newbie with a few questions...

Options
jaydensmommy2010
jaydensmommy2010 Posts: 129 Member
Hi everyone! I am new to this and have been trying to lose weight for the past year!!!!!! I have not lost an ounce, only gained. I have been just tracking what I normally eat, not dieting at all, and I still only net around 1000-1400 calories, then I exercise and burn some off. It is now sinking in my head that maybe I should try eating more. My problem is, how can I eat more with out eating more junk?? I am eating normal foods now, definitely not very "healthy", but they still seem to be low in calories. I have figured out my BMR and TDEE, and they are way more than what I am eating now. BMR= 1789 TDEE= 2460 minus 15% is 2091. I picked lightly active which I have no idea if that is correct or not. I am a stay at home mom and exercise about 5 days a week. If someone could tell me if its ok to eat "junk" in order to increase my calories I would greatly appreciate any feed back! Thank you!!

Replies

• ladyace2078
    ladyace2078 Posts: 460 Member
    Options
    Make sure you are EATING the 2100 calories, not NETTING 2100 calories. If you are working out 5 days a week and based on what I know about SAHMs they are not lightly active. Try using the scooby site since it allows you to put in hours of exercise which is a more quantitative definition of activity.
    http://scoobysworkshop.com/calorie-calculator/

Also, I don't recommend 'junk' food to fill calories since you also want to try to hit your macros. Junk food makes that harder. If you aren't hitting your calories, try eating more often, use full fat options for yogurt/cottage cheese/milk/etc and get some good fats in your diet like olive oil, avocado, nuts, peanut butter.
  • tangiesharp
    tangiesharp Posts: 315 Member
    Options