New to group, new to LC ??

Options
Stripple
Stripple Posts: 62 Member
Hello guy's I am new to LC eating, have a few questions
Is smoked mackerel ok for LC
What is cauliflower rice
anyone know where I can get spaghetti squash in UK ( never seen it before)
Is there a LC gravy out there
What carb level should I be looking for on food labels
Does your calorie level rise when doing LC

Thanking you all in anticipation x

Replies

• cramernh
    cramernh Posts: 3,335 Member
    Options
    ~~~~The smoking process can cause some water retention problems for some people. I would consider this as a preserved meat and under Atkins' guidelines, its not something they would focus on for consumption.

What is cauliflower rice
    ~~~~Basically you boil/steam up your cauliflower as if it were potatoes. And with a ricer, you press it through/spin it through and the cauliflower comes out in small rice-like pieces...

anyone know where I can get spaghetti squash in UK ( never seen it before)
    ~~~~Our UK friends here and Group Leader would know better...

Is there a LC gravy out there
    ~~~~Gravy is made either from a roux (butter and flour) or by thickening with corn starch.... if there is a LC gravy its going to be loaded with unnecessary ingredients, sodium and who knows, other junk as well!

What carb level should I be looking for on food labels
    ~~~~Generally a low-carb intake means no refined carbohydrates: no breads, pasta, rice, corn, flour - at least by Atkins' standards. For medical-related low carb intakes, it would mean keeping your carbohydrate counts to a minimum... the fresher the food the better. Generally a low carb intake would never involve prepackaged, preprocessed, refined or convenience foods...

Does your calorie level rise when doing LC .... It can based on your hunger levels, how well you are making the necessary food-related changes, etc. Then there are those who are making sure they are not eating below their BMR.