Introduction - T2D

Options
2t9nty
2t9nty Posts: 1,576 Member
Hello...

I am a type 2 diabetic and have been taking metformin 1000's twice a day. I have been observing a somewhat low carb diet to try to address the glucose levels. I am fairly active, and I will get 8000 to 14000 steps most days. My goal with eating has been about 50 grams (net) per day, and I have been reasonably successful with this.

My glucose levels seem to bounce around a lot with no real predictability. 90 min after eating at night, I will check glucose and get a reading of 124. 10 hours later my fasting glucose will be 145. Then other days the same readings will be 119 and 105. I understand there is a "dawn phenomenon" with some people, and I wonder if anyone has any ideas about why I see it sometimes and not others? I will get my first A1C since diagnosis in January, so that will be a better indication of how I am doing in general.

I have been using MFP for a couple of months as I have been more aware of eating and watching carbs. I have mostly read a few of the threads and not had much to say. I decided it was probably time to introduce myself.

Thanks...

Replies

• RalfLott
    RalfLott Posts: 5,036 Member
    Options
    Welcome!

Here are a few half-baked thoughts....

I'm just starting my second year of LC eating (also on 2000mg of Glucophage XR), and I still can't predict my BG all that well. If it's higher than I think it should be, I test up to 12x/daily - waking, before each meal, and 1 and 2 hours afterwards.

If you're willing to test that often while your BG remains a concern, this should give you a more complete picture of how your BG relates to your diet, meds, exercise, and weight loss than a single, annual A1c test (which doesn't measure BG directly and can be susceptible to false readings).

If not, you might want to consider getting your A1c checked every couple of months.