When will I love running?

Options
jessiruthica
jessiruthica Posts: 412 Member
I'm one day away from finishing the C25K! Yay! But every run I take still feels like a trudge. I'm only doing it to get through the specified time. I'm SOOO focused on the time that I don't really enjoy the actual running.

So when did you start liking/loving running? When does it become easier/more fun? I've really enjoyed the challenge of getting to this point but don't want to keep doing it if it never becomes more interesting.

Thoughts?

Replies

• Etherlily1
    Etherlily1 Posts: 974 Member
    Options
    I am really enjoying my runs, and I am just starting out. I use an app that plays music from playlist while keeping track of the time for me. It allows me to just do it without worrying about the time.
  • Just_Ceci
    Just_Ceci Posts: 5,926 Member
    Options
    Took me about a year.
  • upsaluki
    upsaluki Posts: 553 Member
    Options
    Hard to say when you'll start liking/loving it. You'll know you're there when you get cranky if something gets in the way of your run day.
  • MeanderingMammal
    MeanderingMammal Posts: 7,866 Member
    Options
    I'm SOOO focused on the time...

So chill out a bit...

A lot depends on what you're doing, and where you run. For me, I keep giving myself challenges, I rarely go out to just run as the majority of my sessions are related to a training plan of some kind; distance, pace etc.

The other element is where I'm running. I far prefer getting out in the forests and trails, but the road stuff has to happen to support that.

I can't recall whether you're dreadmilling it or not? If that's the case then I'm not surprised, that's boring as hel.
  • LadyWacko
    LadyWacko Posts: 12 Member
    Options