Question...

Options
I was planning on having my first fast day on Tuesday but I'm now working everyday this week. Am I being a bit over-dramatic in thinking I shouldn't start fasting when I have work? I work in healthcare, do 7-8 hour shifts and I'm on my feet for pretty much all of the shift....

Replies

• jknight001
    jknight001 Posts: 745 Member
    edited November 2014
    Options
    A lot of 5:2ers say being busy makes the fast much easier. Here is my advice (feel free to take it or leave it). You can give it try on a work day. If it gets to be too much eat something and then take time decide your next best move. The main thing about 5:2 is to do what works for you. No pressure here to do it like everyone else.
  • feisty_bucket
    feisty_bucket Posts: 1,047 Member
    Options
    Working will distract you; I'd say go for it.

When you first play around with fasting, it'll be on your mind often because the real hunger is usually a new and different feeling.
  • jknight001
    Options
    Oh, and if you do fast on a work day, don't forget in your busyness to keep hydrated. It will help a lot.
  • purpleberry2
    purpleberry2 Posts: 16 Member
    Options
    thanks guys! thinking about it, when i do an afternoon shift, i don't tend to eat until 12 anyway then i wouldnt eat until my break at 6/7 so I reckon a fast day could work
  • orlcam
    orlcam Posts: 533 Member
    Options
    jknight001 wrote: »
    A lot of 5:2ers say being busy makes the fast much easier. Here is my advice (feel free to take it or leave it). You can give it try on a work day. If it gets to be too much eat something and then take time decide your next best move. The main thing about 5:2 is to do what works for you. No pressure here to do it like everyone else.
    +1 <nodding>

• flumi_f
    flumi_f Posts: 1,888 Member
    Options