Looking for new, safe friends!

Options
Hi! I'm kind of new to EM2WL, but I've been heading in this direction for a while. I definitely need some EM2WL friends :)

The more I read through my newsfeed, the more I realize I probably need to unfriend a lot of people for the sake of my own safety. They're kind, encouraging people, but almost everyone is eating at a severe calorie deficit (most aiming to net 1200) and many are using negative self-talk.

It's getting to me.

I struggled with disordered eating in high school, and those thought patterns are always lurking in the shadows. I really need to steer clear of the "eat nothing, punish my body, earn my calories" way of thinking. I made a resolution this year that I was going to work with my body, not against it, in eating, resting, and getting stronger.

Reading posts in this group - especially seeing photos of strong, healthy people - has been such a breath of fresh air.

I'll be checking in with my numbers and more info in a few days and would appreciate some feedback. I'm pretty sure I'm in between two activity factors, so I'm taking a week to see how my body is feeling with certain numbers to get a better gauge on what my body is saying. I'm also taking note of the number of calories I'm capable of consuming! I like to eat and haven't been on a strict diet or anything, but I'm only 5'3"!!

Also, any runners in this group want to be friends? I'm getting back into running after a hiatus last year and would love to meet a few running buddies :)

Hope everyone is staying warm!
It's snowing here ❄️
- Michele

Replies

• aaliceinw
    aaliceinw Posts: 747 Member
    Options
    Love your post. After my health assessment, I was put on a low cal diet of 1200. I understand the tiniest bit about dieting and thought that I had to be under that and exercise like mad, because I was constantly told, "calories in = calories out and you have lots to lose".