Need to learn about clean eating

Options
I am 78 years and my health is suffering, so I have to lose 40 lbs.
my Dr tells me I Need to stay away from processed foods and eat only fresh.
I do not know anything about cooking much less eating this way. I will appreciate any help.
Unfortunately there is no one in our household that eats this way, so I am on my own.

Replies

• rendress269
    rendress269 Posts: 90 Member
    Options
    Hi Grannychick75,
    I'm by no means an expert, but I try to eat natural foods as much as possible. I shop the outer aisles of the store and buy from my local farmer's market. I often think of my grandmother when I'm cooking because I'd imagine she used a lot of the same fresh products instead of packaged, processed foods.

My husband hates dieting and has commented that this time around he feels more satisfied with his meals and doesn't feel as if he's on a diet at all. We eat 3 meals and 2 snacks daily and have focused on portion control.

We try to eat one Meatless meal every week and chicken, lean ground turkey or fish with an occasional beef/ pork meal. I buy fresh vegetables to steam instead of canned or frozen. We cut out all white flour, rice, pasta & sugar from our diet and use whole wheat and grains more often.

Do you have any dietary restrictions? This will be an important piece to a healthy plan. Best of luck to you. I sent you a friend request.
  • TBrownCVT
    TBrownCVT Posts: 85 Member
    Options
    Their are so many blogs about this subject that give great tips. Two of my favorites are MyHumbleKitchen.com, and WellnessMama.com
  • LuFindy
    LuFindy Posts: 28
    Options
    Hi, I am very much the same. I need to learn to eat more natural foods and stay away from processed. It's so hard when you've done that all your life. We can help each other!
  • crispywalker
    crispywalker Posts: 18 Member
    Options
    Start with simple steps.. like take out snack foods from your home and snack on fruits, veggies and nuts.