clean condiments by brand name help please

Options
2»

Replies

• TBrownCVT
    TBrownCVT Posts: 85 Member
    Options
    cosmonew wrote: »
    I swear by this--Try pinterest it has helped me so much and finding clean, healthy foods to eat.

I have checked pinterest... i guess I need to be more diligent.. I see lots of good recipes...but don't know what ingredients they are using... I am totally new to words such as gluten free, and don't want to spend money on everything organic.. just the things that will really matter.. I have heard apples, spinach, lettuce are major pesticide carriers

As far as gluten goes, if you're sensitive to it you should certainly avoid it. Otherwise, limit it but don't cut it completely out. The average diet has become far too heavy on wheat products, and gluten is somewhat difficult to digest. However, it isn't the evil ingredient causing all the world's problems that some people make it out to be.

On organic, remember that even organic produce has pesticides. They just use "natural" pesticides. I do prefer non-GMO (I would like to be able to wash the pesticides off my food and not have them originating from inside it), and for that reason I would rather go with organic on certain foods. Mostly, wash your produce well no matter what type it is.

I can't afford to spend too much either, so I always look for good deals on healthy items that can be frozen or easily stored and stock up.

Good luck! And feel free to add me if you like.
  • cynhkr1300
    cynhkr1300 Posts: 14 Member
    Options
    cosmonew, I don't know whether you're still following this thread or not, but just wanted to put a couple more brand names out for you to consider. I found a ketchup with zero added sugar at Sprout's Farmers Market -- brand name Westbrae. See www.westbrae.com
    Also a pasta sauce brand that I can get at any supermarket is Classico.