What's next?

Options
timg760
timg760 Posts: 115 Member
I may be jumping the gun here... but - on paper - I have 3 weeks left of the 12-week Madcow intermediate program, and I am wondering what to do next.

Not sure if this will affect the choice of next program, but at the end of my current Madcow program - again, on paper - i should have the following maxes:

squat 350x3
bench 220x3
DL 315x5
OHP 130x5
Row 210x3

I have added front squats and reverse-grip bench presses for assistance for the middle day of my 3-day-a-week schedule. I tend to keep my workout time to 1.5 to 2 hours per session, only because I need to actually work for a living. In a perfect world I'd probably spend closer to 3 hours and get paid for that too!

My only concrete goal is to get stronger. Getting bigger would be a really nice bonus. (I would also like to get better with caloric/macro adherence in a carb/treat rich household, because that would help my waistline, but perhaps that's another topic for another thread?)

As always, your feedback is much appreciated.

-TG

Replies

• nossmf
    nossmf Posts: 9,632 Member
    Options
    Personally, I recommend repeating Madcow a second time, starting lower with reset maxes from the first time you started. However, take 3-4 weeks first to try a full-body routine where you alternate heavy with light sets. For example:

Monday: squats & OHP heavy, DL & bench light
    Wednesday: DL & bench heavy, squats & OHP light
    Friday: repeat Monday

Monday: repeated Wednesday

Keep alternating between the two. By "heavy" it would be 3-5 sets of 3-5 reps; "light" is 3 sets of 10-12. This is what I currently do since my work schedule limits me to twice per week lifting, and I have continued to gain strength. (I would love to return to a 3/wk routine, but alas, not in the for-seeable future.)
  • timg760
    Options
    nossmf wrote: »