Anyone have a link to a reverse TDEE calculator? Or a formula in their brain?

Options
minties82
minties82 Posts: 907 Member
edited July 2015 in Social Groups
I'm not good with math. I'm trying to figure out an average TDEE for myself based on actual energy intake and kg lost. I am sure I am calculating it incorrectly though as I get a number that sounds too large. It doesn't help that I work in kilojoules for intake and kilograms for outgoing I suppose!

I found a google doc but it is read only.

over a 7 day period:
I ate 6541kj per day (45,789 over the week)
I lost 157.14g per day (1,100g over the week)

A kilogram loss is meant to represent a deficit of 37,000kj.

If someone who's brain is actually working today could help me out that'd be cool. The kids won't leave me alone and I can't think! I am trying to see how exercise and macros are influencing my losses etc.

Replies

• FIT_Goat
    FIT_Goat Posts: 4,224 Member
    edited July 2015
    Options
    It would be 1.1 * 37000 / 7 + 6541 (weight lost * energy per unit of weight / time period + average energy consumed during time period)

Edit: I get 12,355 kj/day from this (which is about 2,950 kcal/day). That seems pretty high, but not insanely so. There's more problems with this than you want to know though. You need a LOT of data (talking months). On top of that, 1 kg isn't really 37,000 kj. It might be more than that or less than that. That's an assumption. It's not even a good one, it's probably much too high. That's almost 9000 calories per kg... a better assumption is 7700 calories or 31,400 kj. Even that is a really rough assumption, and doesn't mean much for this calculation.
  • minties82
    minties82 Posts: 907 Member
    edited July 2015
    Options
    I see what you are saying there, thanks so much. That is is how I was calculating but thought it sounded too much. I suppose every day and week requires different energy needs though as some weeks are half that loss. Cool bananas as my son says.