Dirt cheap, lowish-carb paleo dinner ideas?

Options
2»

Replies

• AbbeyDove
    AbbeyDove Posts: 317 Member
    Options
    Primal7,

That link was extremely helpful! Thank you! If you know of any others, let us know!
  • LadyPaleo
    LadyPaleo Posts: 24
    Options
    What a helpful bunch of people on this forum! Thanks for the great ideas.
  • redheadmommy
    redheadmommy Posts: 908 Member
    Options
    If you do not have a freezer, get one!!! Freezer was on my christmass and birthday wish list for years, and this year I finally got it. OMG it is amazing! I am still learning , but it is a great resource.
    Buying bulk at Costco or other places can makes thing so much cheaper. I'm from Canada, and groceries here twice as more than in the US , so budgeting is even more important. Here grocery stores usually have 15% off on the first Tuesday of the month on the top off their regular deals. Obviously it became my shopping day. I check the flyers and hit 2-3 stores on that day and buy a month worth of meat, eggs, and dairy ( I am primal not paleo),toiletteris, spice and anything that can be stored for 3-4 weeks. I also visit Costco at that day. This makes that day very loong and tiring , but than shopping is done for the month. I portion out the meat that day and freeze it. Beside the protein and no perishables, I buy enough fruits and veggies that last 2 weeks. This way I do not have to visit the store the following week. 2 weeks later the big shopping, i visit a farmers market only to buy fresh fruits and vegetables. Again buy enough mfor 2 weeks and that's all the shopping I do in a month. Sometimes I visit the farmers market twice a month, but the grocery stores only once.

If you see cheap whole chicken buy a few and grill them at once. Or buy ready to eat rotisserie chicken if it is on sale. Take the meat of and chop into pieces and bag it, freeze it. This is the best go to food in my house. Great fast lunch or extra protein in any dish really.