Low Carb and Running?

Options
mountainrun73
mountainrun73 Posts: 155 Member
So I've been dabbling in low carb for a few months. I find that having adequate protein and fat does wonders for my moods! I still cling to eating legumes, rice, and quinoa because I like to run and would like to become a better runner (my next goal is to run 9 min miles or less). However, I am also at least 15lbs over what is a good weight to be proficient at running. So I know low carb is supposed to help with weight loss, but I abandon it after a week of being unable to even run 3 miles on a given day.

Anyone successfully run on low carb? I don't try to go too low - really want to stay in the 50-100g range per Primal Blueprint guidelines. Can I lose weight and be a better runner and do it low carb?

Replies

• leslileberman
    leslileberman Posts: 22 Member
    Options
    I used to and yes, it just takes a little while for your body to adapt to a different fuel for the run. Give it a few weeks. It took me a few weeks to be fully used to the change, but once I was I had much better distance and time. In the end you will wonder why you ever listened to the 'carb loading' advice! However, once you decide to change or quit this way of eating and pack back on the carbs, you will go through another adjustment period and it will be harder than ever energy wise. Any time you have a big pasta meal or something like that you can count on a crappy workout.
  • wabmester
    wabmester Posts: 2,748 Member
    edited August 2015
    Options
    I run about 15 miles/week and my 5K pace has dropped from about 10 min/mile to 8 min/mile while low-carb.

You will adapt, and you'll LOVE the adaptations. You burn more fat and your O2 requirements drop. I used to huff and puff, but now I have steady breathing and my recovery is very quick.

I almost always have energy to spare after a 5K, even when I run fasted. No need for carb loading at that level.