Range of motion issues

Options
Kay you beautiful imgurians, I need advice/guidance.

I broke my arm back in August, and although I started with physio less than a week after surgery, I have not regained full range of motion. Nor will I in the foreseeable future.

For the first 4 months we made great progress in terms of gaining 3-5 degrees each time we measured. Then I stagnated. Upon routine follow up with my surgeon, he discovered extra bone growth/ calcification near the injury site (the break itself healed wonderfully). My next measurement at physio revealed that I had lost 5°, 10°, and 10° in the three movements I was just getting back. My physio therapist says that what's blocking movement isn't a muscle or ligament issue, she can feel the bony protrusion blocking it. (I guess hitting hard matter feels different then just under stretched soft tissue, I'm not a professional, I don't know).

My question is, what can I do in terms of excerising with my busted arm. I cannot straiten it, curl it, or put my Palm downward. I used to love getting my cardio on by boxing but that is out of the question now. Push ups and planks are out. Am I limited to walking and elliptical?

And for anyone who's nosey, I'm going for a CT scan soon and more follow up with the surgeon to find out what can be done and when surgery to remove the extra bone thing will happen.

Replies

• marsdahl
    marsdahl Posts: 24 Member
    Options
    I'm not a personal trainer by any means! But from my experience, biking and walking are good low-impact cardio. You might be able to also do some strength training with leg presses, body-weight squats and assisted pull ups/dips (if you don't have pain in your arm while doing these), light dumbbell exercises. Bottom line - always try to keep a balance with cardio and strength training, and then once your arm issues clear up, you can add more upper-body to your strength routine. Good luck!
  • lmitchellf
    lmitchellf Posts: 110 Member
    Options