Older students/grad students

Options
bluesy8899
bluesy8899 Posts: 68 Member
Hi folks! I'm very new to this site and looking forward to seeing all the great features. I'm a grad student on my 40's and wondered if there were any others out there. Working full time while attending school 3/4 time presents some challenges in positive eating and exercise. Any advice or support is appreciated!

Replies

• cmeiron
    cmeiron Posts: 1,599 Member
    Options
    Hi! I'm a grad student and I'm 33; my partner is 43 and just finished a 2-year college program and is headed to university this fall. It's definitely challenging to juggle work, school and health...but all three are priorities, so it has to be done, lol! Since a big part of losing weight and getting healthy boils down to what you're eating, planning meals and groceries for the week is a big help - so is batch cooking (for the freezer) and making sure you cook extras for leftovers for lunches/dinners. We always pack lunches for days when we're on campus; and for days when we work late, there's always something in the freezer that we can pull out and heat up with minimal effort :) Workouts happen in the morning...sometimes we have to get up really early to get them in, but we make the time! Finding workouts that are fun and fast (i.e., high-intensity, so efficient in terms of the calorie burn you get/hr) are helpful :)
  • xstarxdustx
    xstarxdustx Posts: 591 Member
    Options