How often do you increase weights?

Options
Total noob. Just started Stage 1 yesterday. Do I wait until the reps decrease to increase weight? Or do I attempt a weight increase with each workout?

Replies

• mrs_mab
    mrs_mab Posts: 1,024 Member
    Options
    For me I increase as I feel strength gains....if I start a set and it feels to light, I will complete the set at that weight then increase on my next set.
  • teachmom32
    teachmom32 Posts: 183 Member
    Options
    I usually increase on the next workout unless it feels way too easy. Sometimes when I try to increase the next time, I start shaking and realize I'm not quite there yet. You'll know when you are ready (or at least when you're NOT ready because of the shaking).
  • AlongCame_Molly
    AlongCame_Molly Posts: 2,835 Member
    Options
    As soon as I can manage the weight I'm lifting without wanting to die. Which all depends on how diligently I've been working out.
  • JamesChargerWolf
    JamesChargerWolf Posts: 83 Member
    Options
    As soon as I can manage the weight I'm lifting without wanting to die. Which all depends on how diligently I've been working out.

LOL. I'll attempt a small increase and see how it goes. Today I DID want to die during the lunges. 30lb on each arm was a bit much. And even 25 was killer during the 2nd set.
  • dixoncrew
    dixoncrew Posts: 186 Member
    Options
    For me I increase as I feel strength gains....if I start a set and it feels to light, I will complete the set at that weight then increase on my next set.

This is what I do as well :)
  • jamiek917
    jamiek917 Posts: 610 Member
    Options