Need more fiber

Options
rachelbl72
rachelbl72 Posts: 64 Member
Ok so I'm new to low carb but so far it's working great with my weight loss compared to other diets. The only problem is I can't go to the toilet properly and I'm putting that down to enough fiber. I'm getting it into my diet by putting some flaxseed ' chia seeds in yoghurt fage Greek yoghurt and getting some fiber from the veg I'm eating but I think I need more, im not a great lover of veg and the yoghurt think is bearable, but again don't love it.
Any suggestions would be brill

Replies

• KarlynKeto
    KarlynKeto Posts: 323 Member
    Options
    Fresh greens, but if you've got constipation you may also want to make sure you're doing magnesium at night. That tends to loosen things up too. I don't think it's all about fiber when it comes to keeping the pipes moving, lol. You can also look at taking digestive enzymes, that has helped me on a few occasions as well. And they're very cheap to pick up.
  • rachelbl72
    Options
    I'm just about to buy some magnesium citrate is this the right one and can I take it in the morning or is it better at night
  • camtosh
    camtosh Posts: 898 Member
    Options
    Either is ok, just be sure to take enough. There is a protocol on this page to try. http://www.constipation-remedies-for-all.com/magnesium-for-constipation.html
  • rachelbl72
    Options
    Good informative protocol there thanks for the link.
    Here's the thing now. I mainly work night shifts and have read some people find magnesium helps with sleep, should I therefore take my magnesium in the morning after a night shift and then in the evenings that I don't do night shifts. For example I work on Thursday Friday and Sunday nights, so should I do it this way
    Monday am or pm as I don't have a shift tonight
    Tuesday pm
    Wednesday pm
    Thursday am
    Friday am
    Saturday am or pm as I don't have a shift tonight
    Sunday am
  • Sunny_Bunny_
    Sunny_Bunny_ Posts: 7,140 Member