Mobility Challenged

Options
krythie
krythie Posts: 84 Member
Found your group and glad to know other folks are on this app that are challenged, when it comes to exercising. I have arthritis in both my knees, my back, shoulder and hands. Walking is difficult on most days, especially after I come home from work...I am a nurse. I'm trying to avoid surgery and pain meds. I do go to acupuncture about every 7-10 days and that is helping keep me upright, thanks to my wonderful acupuncture doctor. Eating healthy can be hard for me, because I become exhausted easily during food preparation...all that standing and moving about the kitchen cases pain in my knees and legs that can be unbearable. Therefore, I find myself buying already prepared foods from the deli. I know that this is unhealthy eating, but I can't seem to motivate myself to cook at home. I am looking for delicious, healthy recipes that use minimal ingredients and take less than 15 minutes to prepare. Also does anyone have any ideas for me regarding safe, simple exercises (no floor exercises) for leg strengthening. Walking for exercise is out of the question.

Replies

• cjdsign
    cjdsign Posts: 202 Member
    Options
    Hi Krythie, So glad you found us!! And Welcome, Glad you posted this topic, as we are all disabled or differently-abled of one sort or the other. Exercising is tough for all of us here, some of us are challenged more than others, but we all totally understand what you are going through. Do look through the other topics for information, ideas and recipes. I know that it is difficult to do most things. However, that being said, I am permanently disabled and don't/can't work. I do bursts of activity for 15 mins to 30 mins depending on the activity, or as I call it therapy! :)

As far as food prep, I know it is hard for you, but when you are making a meal, make enough for two meals or more, the oven can hold quite a few and freeze the extra ones and eat one.