Okapi on a plateau

Options
Okapi42
Okapi42 Posts: 495 Member
Hi guys,

A friend recommended I post here rather than in the general forums, since the advice I was getting there was spotty at best...

Long story short, I've been plateauing for several months now, though initially I was losing well, and I'm getting increasingly frustrated. Over the last three months, I lost a grand total of 300g - and that was the lowest point from which I have since come back up! Measurements also haven't changed.

I'm using the MFP-suggested calories and macros and eating some of my exercise calories back. Not all, because it varies so wildly, which is where I think the problem might lie! I attempted to have a week of going somewhat over recently because I'd been told to eat more, but that just made me gain more weight.

So, here it is in brief:

DIET

29-year-old female vegetarian, down from 82 kg to 71 kg February-May, 165 cm tall. I have a hormonal imbalance (suspected PCOS) and somewhat wonky blood sugar, so I'm trying to keep under my suggested carbs (trying to stay under 200 g on most days). I tend to go over on fat instead. Protein might be better, but as a vegetarian, it's hard to up the protein without adding in either fat or carbs, and I don't want to go the route of protein powder. Too expensive, too processed. I'm not a "clean" eater by any means, though I cook most meals myself.

I had MFP set to 0.5kg / week and "lightly active" (mostly to cover work things I don't add - I'm a ranger, so the job can involve lots of heavy lifting, yard work, and generally being on my feet a lot. And loads and loads of stairs.) Recently changed that 0.25kg per week and "sedentary", assuming I might be overestimating my general activity level, but it came out with roughly the same net goal of 1450 cals/day.

I saw a dietitian who told me never to go over 1700 gross calories a day, but that would put me in negative net cals some days!